MAISON LEJABY

Lingerie creator since 1930

THE STORY OF A UNIQUE FRENCH DESIGN HOUSE

Maison Lejaby is a French fashion house that has cultivated its expertise in designing and making lingerie since 1930. Using the ‘savoir-faire’ of its Lyon design workshops and traditional practices, Maison Lejaby reinvents high-quality lingerie of perfect cut and impeccable fit in only the finest materials

The collections

Maison Lejaby offers a cleverly designed lingerie wardrobe, with a bold, classic style, Parisian allure and sensual elegance for every occasion. The company is extremely meticulous with respect to fit and design – its collections are made from the finest materials, perfectly cut and beautifully assembled.

Collection Lingerie

Collection

Lingerie

Unique pieces combining noble materials and the expertise of MAISONLEJABY. The various collections propose elegant and creative lingerie for living for all women. Discover our bras, panties, tanga briefs, garter belts, etc.

Discover the collection
Collection Elixir large sizes

Collection

Elixir large sizes

Creations for the sensual, fuller figure, designed to flatter your shape. The Elixir "fuller figure" range illustrates the expertise of MAISONLEJABY in terms of sensuality, comfort and support.

Discover the collection
Collection Swimwear

Collection

Swimwear

Timeless and fashionable swimsuits. MAISONLEJABY takes a new look at swimwear traditions, with brightly coloured or more discreet, one- and two-pieces swimsuits designed to flatter all women and their figures.

Discover the collection

History

Always at the leading edge, with an exceptional gift for innovation, Maison Lejaby has revolutionised the lingerie and swimwear sector. For 85 years, the company has supported women as they seek emancipation, freedom, and the fulfilment of their desires. Maison Lejaby is the name behind the greatest successes in the history of lingerie.

1930

THE 1930s... THE MYTH OF THE FEMME FATALE AND THE BIRTH OF LEJABY

The 1930s marked a return to traditionalism but this was also the age of the femme fatale. Marlene Dietrich appeared wearing a garter belt in The Blue Angel. She was captivating. In particular, she caught the eye of Marcel and Marguerite Blanchard, owners of a small cinema in Ain, along with Marguerite's sister, Gabrielle, known as "Gaby". Inspired by glamorous and sexy images, she started to sew lingerie and bras that her brother-in-law put into production. Throughout the region, "La Gaby's bras" were causing a stir. In 1930, Gabrielle's nickname became the name of the company: Lejaby.

1950

THE 1950s... LEJABY's EARLY DAYS

New materials (polyester, polyamide, acrylic, etc.) led to the emergence of ready-to-wear garments, giving underwear a more feminine appearance. Soon after Gaby died, Marcel Blanchard opened a design studio in Paris where he created voluptuous négligés and several varieties of basques, briefs, and garter belts. The talented illustrator Gruau, a dedicated feminist, was brought on board to design the brand's advertising campaigns at the same time as the hard-hitting slogan "Lejaby, une ligne du tonnerre" (translated literally as "Lejaby, a thunderous line"). It was a success! Lejaby took off in France and abroad.

1960

THE 1960s... FREEDOM, CREATIVITY AND INTERNATIONAL SUCCESS

Women were achieving freedom. Brigitte Bardot was the inspiration for sexier fashion and became the icon of a generation. After Marcel Blanchard died in 1960, Maurice and Charles Bugnon, two brothers working in the cosmetic industry, bought Lejaby and soon expanded the international distribution of the brand. Their stroke of genius: negotiating the exclusive use of Lycra in France. The Miss Top bra, created in 1965, marked the arrival of stretch materials. More than three million Miss Top bras were sold.

1970

THE 1970S... RASUREL AND LEJABY JOIN FORCES

The brothers bought Rasurel but only kept the swimwear line. Rasurel and Lejaby existed side by side at the Rillieux-la-Pape factory just outside Lyon. The lingerie industry started to experience difficult years. Lejaby decided to support the women’s liberation movement by providing them with a brightly coloured, triangular bra. Its name: Liberty. A revolution!

1980

THE 1980S... GROWTH THAT JUST WON'T STOP

Glitziness is the new trend, and Lejaby made a bold move with a lacy line all in red, called Jubilee. Lingerie was becoming more refined, a powerful symbol of femininity with details like guipure, another Lejaby innovation, which was the perfect enhancement for an uplifted décolleté. The brand partnered with actress Isabelle Adjani, one of the brightest stars of the 80s, to launch its Eglantine line.

1990

THE 1990s... REMARKABLE GROWTH

At Lejaby's initiative, lingerie transitioned from extreme refinement to unparalleled minimalism with seam-free microfibre underwear. The Cloud line sold a remarkable 15 million pieces, and would be considered something of a swan song. Upon Maurice Bugnon's death, the company executives found themselves alone at the helm.

2000

THE 2000s... THE 1ST ELIXIR PLUS-SIZE COLLECTION

Lejaby launched its first line for fuller figures, "Elixir". Here too, the company was able to demonstrate its technical and creative lingerie-making expertise through a seductive and innovative collection. Elixir's fit soon become highly sought after. Yet despite the launch of increasingly innovative, patented lingerie designs, difficult times lay ahead.

2015

TODAY

MAISONLEJABY developed a new identity and a strong brand momentum. The first MAISONLEJABY innovative boutique opened in Lyon. The e-shop maisonlejaby.com now showcases the brand's 5 collections: Iconics, Spirit of the Moment, Elixir Plus Size, Couture Spirit and Swimwear. In December 2016, MAISONLEJABY open a second boutique in Paris. In the heart oh 16th arrondissement discovers an intimate and confidential address thought like a home. She was imagined as if the workshop were invited to the dressing room.

Continue shopping
View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

MAISON LEJABY

Corsetier Créateur depuis 1930

L’histoire d’une maison française d’exception

Maison Lejaby est une Maison Française qui depuis 1930 cultive son expertise de corsetier à travers le savoir faire de ses ateliers de création à Lyon. Elle perpétue et réinvente dans les règles de l'art une lingerie de qualité pensée avec les matières les plus nobles, des coupes précises et un bien aller maîtrisé.

Les Collections

Maison Lejaby propose une garde robe de circonstance en lingerie qui signe en tout occasion une allure parisienne, une élégance sensuelle et un classique audacieux. Elle place le plus haut degré d'exigence en terme de bien aller et de création dans ses collections façonnées dans des matières nobles et précieuses aux coupes précises et aux montages maîtrises.

Collection Iconiques

Collection

Iconiques

des créations intemporelles, les grands succès de Maison Lejaby, les essentiels d'une garde robe en lingerie

Découvrir la collection
Collection Air du temps

Collection

Air du temps

des créations qui étoffent le vestiaire de pièces plus audacieuses, le reflet de l'époque et du talent créatif de la Maison. Un vestiaire, ponctué de capsules thématiques pour rythmer l'année.

Découvrir la collection
Collection Esprit Couture

Collection

Esprit Couture

des pièces d'exception pour de grandes occasions qui incarnent la quintessence du savoir-faire des ateliers de création et jouent le plus haut degré de raffinement dans les matières et les détails créatifs.

Découvrir la collection
Collection Elixir

Collection

Elixir

des créations sensuelles axées "taille+" qui incarnent le style et l'expertise de Maison Lejaby en matière de maintien, de confort et de bien aller.

Découvrir la collection

L'histoire

Toujours à l'avant-garde, exceptionnellement douée pour l'innovation, Maison Lejaby a révolutionné l'industrie de la corseterie et du bain. Depuis 85 ans, elle accompagne la femme dans son émancipation, sa quête de liberté, sa soif d'envies et est à l'origine des plus grands succès de l'histoire de la lingerie.

1930

Les années 30... Le mythe de la femme fatale et la naissance de Lejaby

Les années 30 connaissent un retour au classicisme mais c’est aussi l’époque des femmes fatales. Dans l’Ange Bleu, Marlène Dietrich apparaît vêtue de porte-jarretelles. Elle fascine. Parmi ses admirateurs : Marcel et Marguerite Blanchard, propriétaires d’une petite salle de cinéma dans l’Ain et à leur côté, Gabrielle, dite « Gaby », la sœur de Marguerite. Nourrie d’images glamour et sexy, elle se met à coudre de la lingerie et des soutiens-gorge que son beau-frère fait fabriquer. Dans toute la région, on parle des « soutiens-gorge de La Gaby ». De son prénom, naîtra le nom de la marque en 1930 : Lejaby.

1950

Les années 50... L'avènement Lejaby

Les nouvelles matières (polyester, polyamide, acrylique…) font émerger le prêt-à-porter et redonnent un aspect plus féminin aux sous-vêtements. Peu de temps après la mort de Gaby, Marcel Blanchard ouvre un salon de création à Paris dans lequel naissent de voluptueux déshabillés et des déclinaisons de guêpières, slips et porte-jarretelles. Au talent de l’illustrateur Gruau, féministe convaincu qui signe les campagnes publicitaires de la marque, s’ajoute le slogan percutant « Lejaby, une ligne du tonnerre ». C’est le succès ! Lejaby explose en France et à l’étranger.

1960

Les 60's... Liberté, créativité et succès internationaux

La femme se libère. Brigitte Bardot inspire une mode plus sexy et devient l’icône d’une génération. Marcel Blanchard meurt en 1960 ; Maurice et Charles Bugnon, deux frères issus de l’industrie de la cosmétique, rachètent Lejaby et vont très vite étendre la distribution à l’international. Leur trait de génie : négocier l’utilisation exclusive du Lycra en France. Le soutien-gorge Miss Top, créé en 1965, signera l’avènement des matières extensibles. Il sera vendu à plus de 3 millions d’exemplaires.

1970

Les années 70... Rasurel et Lejaby s'unissent

Le duo rachète la marque Rasurel, dont il ne conserve que l’activité maillots de bain. Rasurel et Lejaby cohabitent au sein de l’usine de Rillieux-la-Pape, près de Lyon. Les années noires de la corseterie se profilent. Lejaby choisit d’accompagner les femmes dans leur libération et leur offre un soutien-gorge en forme de triangle aux couleurs acidulées. Son nom : Liberty. Une révolution !

1980

Les années 80... Une croissance qui va crescendo

La tendance est au clinquant ; le choix du rouge pour la ligne en dentelle Jubilé de Lejaby, est audacieux. Plus raffinée, la lingerie devient un puissant symbole de féminité avec des détails comme la guipure, une autre innovation Lejaby, qui fait merveille sur les décolletés pigeonnants. La marque associe l’actrice de cinéma Isabelle Adjani, immense star de l’époque, au lancement de sa ligne Eglantine.

1990

Les années 90... Une croissance exceptionnelle

A l’extrême raffinement succède un minimalisme inédit dans la lingerie, initié par Lejaby avec ses sous-vêtements en microfibre sans couture. Les ventes exceptionnelles de la ligne Nuage en 15 millions d’exemplaires, sonnent comme un chant du cygne. Maurice Bugnon décède et les cadres se retrouvent seuls aux commandes.

2000

Les années 2000... La 1ère collection Elixir taille +

Lejaby lance sa première ligne pour les formes généreuses « Elixir » et exprime là encore, au travers de cette collection séduction innovante, son savoir-faire technique et créatif de corsetier. Le bien-aller d’Elixir est très vite plébiscité par les clientes. Malgré le lancement de brevets corsetiers toujours plus innovants, les années sombres se confirment pour la marque.

2015

Aujourd'hui

Maison Lejaby revêt une nouvelle identité et retrouve une forte dynamique de marque. La première boutique Maison Lejaby ouvre à Lyon avec un concept innovant et la boutique en ligne maisonlejaby.com vous fait découvrir dès à présent les 5 collections de la marque : Les Iconiques, L’Air du Temps, Elixir Taille +, L’Esprit Couture… et le Bain, à partir de janvier 2016 !

Continue shopping
View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout